Six More Demonstration Sites Named in Iowa

On Jan. 30, 2013, Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield, Blue Zones and Healthways announced six additional communities as Blue Zones Project® demonstration sites in Iowa. The communities are:

Cedar RapidsMuscatine
Iowa CityOskaloosa
MarionSioux City


These communities join Cedar Falls, Mason City, Spencer, and Waterloo, which were named in May 2012 as the first Blue Zones Project® demonstration site communities in Iowa with populations greater than 10,000 citizens. Nine additional communities with populations less than 10,000 citizens were named demonstration sites in October 2012 for a total of 19 communities currently working formally towards Blue Zones Community® certification.

The selected communities will receive assistance from experts to develop and implement a Blueprint for making permanent environmental, social, and policy changes that transition people into healthier behaviors that can lead to longer, happier lives. Three of the communities (Cedar Rapids, Muscatine, and Sioux City) will begin this work immediately, while three (Iowa City, Marion, and Oskaloosa) will begin their work in 2014. The progress of all the large demonstration site communities will be measured using the Gallup-Healthways Well-Being Index®, the first-ever daily assessment of U.S. residents’ health and well-being.

Related Articles